National Honor Society Fall 2019 Inductees with moderators, Mrs. Julie Daley and Ms. Olivia Ray with President Rick Wood and Principal Catherine Bowes

SMR announces Fall 2019 NHS, Student Council, and Tri-M inductees

Via St. Mary’s Ryken High School

On October 24, 2019, St. Mary’s Ryken inducted new members of National Honor Society, Tri-M Music Honor Society and Student Council.  The formal ceremony was held in the Romuald Hall auditorium, and students and parents enjoyed the honor and special event. 

The National Honor Society inducted 26 new juniors and seniors into the Theodore Ryken Chapter.  NHS members are students who exemplify each of the four pillars of the club: scholarship, leadership, service, and character.  

The members participate in service projects which raise money to support the Brother Romuald Scholarship and the Blaine Whorl Run at SMR, local food pantries, the Care Net pregnancy care center, and Camp Maria’s Project Warm, among other projects. 

Students are also called upon to represent the school as brand ambassadors for open houses, graduation, senior awards, the gala fundraising dinner, and other events.   Finally, NHS focuses on thanking the community around us, including first responders, law enforcement, and the military. 

Juniors and seniors who have cumulative GPAs of at least 3.5 are invited to apply.

National Honor Society Fall 2019 Inductees with moderators, Mrs. Julie Daley and Ms. Olivia Ray with President Rick Wood and Principal Catherine Bowes

The following students were inducted into NHS:

  • Rebecca Arnold                           
  • Julia Baddour
  • Gregory Belvin
  • Julia Belvin      
  • Dylan Brown
  • Layla Cozart-Amos
  • Darrell Davis
  • Nikia Frida
  • Emily Gardiner
  • Luke Getson
  • Jesse Harris
  • Katelyn Kovach
  • Karmen Krechman
  • Emily Litten
  • Blake Meyer
  • Katherine Murphy    
  • Gianna Nazzaro
  • Drew Pettis                                         
  • Jaida Rhea
  • Darlene Salvador
  • Peter Schumacher
  • Abigail Simmons
  • Daymone Simmons
  • Hojung Yu

For more information about NHS, please contact Mrs. Julie Daley at

The Tri-M® Music Honor Society is a program of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME), which focuses on creating future leaders in music education and music advocacy.

Tri-M recognizes students that have gone above and beyond both academically and musically. Tri-M also provides students leadership opportunities to make a difference in their community through music-based service projects. 

Tri-M inductees with members from previous inductions along with moderators, Mr. James Parker, Mrs. Kim Norris and President Rick Wood and Principal Catherine Bowes

17 students were inducted into Tri-M: 

  • Cora Bessette
  • John Collins
  • Abigail Cosgrove
  • Nicholas Fernbaugh
  • Catherine Furtado
  • Edward Getson
  • Molly Guy
  • Milan Jones
  • Karley Lusby
  • Lena Martinez
  • Sydney Neal
  • Jaida Rhea
  • Sofia Sherman
  • Megan Skane
  • Matthew Sterbenz
  • Caroline Tedford
  • Samantha Young

For more information about Tri-M visit or contact SMR Fine Arts Department chair, Mrs. Kim Norris at

The St. Mary’s Ryken Student Council is comprised of both elected and appointed positions. These students undertake the responsibility of leadership, either given by their peers through election or accepted through appointments.

Their role is to learn how to govern and be actively involved in these governing roles throughout the year.

These many activities include school dances and prom, spirit week, Santa Knight, Veteran’s Day parade, Thanksgiving Food Drive, Health and Wellness Week activities, Senior Picnic and more.

2019 Student Council Members with moderators Mr. Luke Young and Ms. Stephanie Dameron with Principal Catherine Bowes and President Rick Wood

35 Student Council members were recognized:

Elected Members:

Student Council Board:

  • Sydney Neal: President
  • Lilly Bull: Vice-President
  • Secretary: Jesse Harris
  • Treasurer: Kerra Miller

Class of 2020

  • Matthew Padgett: President
  • Dillon Miller: Vice President
  • Jaida Hendricks: Treasurer
  • Sloan Koviak: Secretary

Class of 2021

  • Gianna Nazarro: President
  • Caitlin Flatley: Vice-President
  • Katelyn Kovach: Secretary
  • Matthew Harrer: Treasurer

Class of 2022

  • Nina Ferrero: President
  • Gabrielle Pierpont: VP
  • Elise Cecil: Secretary
  • Delayne Wood: Treasurer

Class of 2023

  • Henry Meiser: President
  • Romeo Norris: Vice-president
  • Alexandra Harrer: Treasurer

Non-Elected Inducted Members:

  • Bri Bowen
  • Alyssa Brown
  • Morgan Floer
  • Tyla Frazier
  • Catherine Furtado
  • Mia Holland
  • Karley Lusby
  • Austin Luther
  • Ahryel McManhan
  • Erin McRoy
  • Romeo Norris
  • Kaela Robinson
  • Eve Simmons
  • Alyssa Taylor-Axtell
  • Trinity Treadway
  • Clara Watkins

For more information, please contact Mr. Luke Young at or Ms. Steph Dameron at

The Southern Maryland Chronicle is a local, small business entrusted to provide factual, unbiased reporting to the Southern Maryland Community. While we look to local businesses for advertising, we hope to keep that cost as low as possible in order to attract even the smallest of local businesses and help them get out to the public. We must also be able to pay employees(part-time and full-time), along with equipment, and website related things. We never want to make the Chronicle a “pay-wall” style news site.

To that end, we are looking to the community to offer donations. Whether it’s a one-time donation or you set up a reoccurring monthly donation. It is all appreciated. All donations at this time will be going to furthering the Chronicle through hiring individuals that have the same goals of providing fair, and unbiased news to the community. For now, donations will be going to a business PayPal account I have set-up for the Southern Maryland Chronicle, KDC Designs. All business transactions currently occur within this PayPal account. If you have any questions regarding this you can email me at

Thank you for all of your support and I hope to continue bringing Southern Maryland the best news possible for a very long time. — David M. Higgins II

© 2019 The Southern Maryland Chronicle. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.