SMR Students and Faculty Participated in International Coastal Clean-up Effort

News Release, St. Mary’s Ryken High School

On Saturday, September 21, St. Mary’s Ryken students and faculty participated in the International Coastal Clean-up effort along the SMR shoreline cleaning up a section of Breton Bay. Thank you to the following students and faculty for participating:

  • Mr. and Mrs. James Parker (Band and Orchestra Teacher)
  • Bella Beck
  • Emily Blackburn
  • Dylan Brown
  • Kendall Flerlage
  • Kylie Flerlage
  • Shelby Floehr
  • Chris Gleghorn
  • Michael Guy
  • Marco Magpantay
  • Mitchell Moher
  • Rodney Jefferson
  • Ethan Redding
  • Matthew Sterbenz
  • Rhiannon Tamburi

The Southern Maryland Chronicle is a local, small business entrusted to provide factual, unbiased reporting to the Southern Maryland Community. While we look to local businesses for advertising, we hope to keep that cost as low as possible in order to attract even the smallest of local businesses and help them get out to the public. We must also be able to pay employees(part-time and full-time), along with equipment, and website related things. We never want to make the Chronicle a “pay-wall” style news site.

To that end, we are looking to the community to offer donations. Whether it’s a one-time donation or you set up a reoccurring monthly donation. It is all appreciated. All donations at this time will be going to furthering the Chronicle through hiring individuals that have the same goals of providing fair, and unbiased news to the community. For now, donations will be going to a business PayPal account I have set-up for the Southern Maryland Chronicle, KDC Designs. All business transactions currently occur within this PayPal account. If you have any questions regarding this you can email me at

Thank you for all of your support and I hope to continue bringing Southern Maryland the best news possible for a very long time. — David M. Higgins II

© 2019 The Southern Maryland Chronicle. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.