Leadership Southern Maryland announces the class of 2020

News Release, Leadership Southern Maryland

LEONARDTOWN, MD – August 22, 2019: The Leadership Southern Maryland (LSM) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the selection of 35 Southern Maryland leaders for its 12th class – the Class of 2020.

From Calvert County –

  • Donna M. Arnstein, director, Center for Family Birth Care for CalvertHealth Medical Center
  • Dina, M. Davis, deputy director for Calvert County Department of Human Resources
  • Kathleen L. MacAdams, business retention specialist for Calvert County Department of Economic Development
  • Judy J. Mackall, zoning planner for Calvert County Department of Planning & Zoning
  • Sandra V. Wobbleton, transportation division chief for Calvert County Department of Community Resources
  • Melanie D. Woodson, deputy director for Calvert County Department of Human Resources

From Charles County –

  • Robert M. Branham, recreation division chief for Calvert County Department of Parks & Recreation
  • Evalyne Bryant-Ward, director of operations for University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Group
  • Tara S. Landis, chief learning officer for Naval Surface Warfare Center Indian Head EOD Technical Division
  • Avis D. McMillon, executive director, marketing and communications for College of Southern Maryland
  • Lucinia F. Mundy, business development specialist for Charles County Department of Economic Development
  • Lori A. Proctor, director of healthcare for College of Southern Maryland
  • Trenace N. Richardson, CEO of REAL Women, Inc.
  • Richard J. Steinmetz, partner at Baldwin, Briscoe, & Steinmetz, P.C.
  • Jason M. Stoddard, director of school safety and security for Charles County Public Schools
  • Cynthia V. Vallancourt, senior proposal manager for Sabre Systems, Inc.                                                                                                                   
  • Janet L. Virgin, public affairs officer specialist for Naval Surface Warfare Center Indian Head EOD Technical Division
  • Karrie M. Wood, executive vice president, director of retail banking for Community Bank of the Chesapeake

 From St. Mary’s County –

  • Jerrilyn Borneman, director of development for St. Mary’s Ryken
  • John J. Brabazon, executive officer of Naval Air Station, Patuxent River
  • Thomas A. Brewer, manager, environmental health, science and sustainability programs for St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • Jason R. Burroughs, vice president at AV3,Inc.
  • James “Rusty” Cooper, director, information solutions operating unit for KBR
  • Anna N. Cotton, small business owner of Maralit Customs and Repairs & Spirits and Splinters
  • Megan E. de Vos, defense recruiting manager for Smartronix
  • Kristen D. Kennedy, APMSE analyst, PMA-261 for Precise Systems, Inc.
  • James “Jay” Mattingly, IV, training and quality assurance coordinator for St. Mary’s County Department of Emergency Services
  • Summer L. Raley, vice president at Zenetex, LLC
  • Erin M. Ramos, management analyst and technical writer for RTR Technologies, LLC
  • Ellen P. Servetnick, educational outreach office team lead for NAWCAD
  • Amber B. Starn, epidemiologist, and director of health promotions for Charles County Department of Health
  • Regina L. Steele, director of perioperative services for MedStar St. Mary’s Hospital
  • David C. Vollmer, president of Reliable Marine
  • Michael R. Wick, provost and dean of faculty for St. Mary’s College of Maryland

From Virginia; however, works in St. Mary’s County –

  • Phil A. Fickes, manager, global military business development – Lexington Park office for Bell Helicopter

Following a two-day opening retreat in September, these class members will attend eight one- or two-day intense sessions focusing on economic and workforce development, defense, education, healthcare, public safety, housing and human services, multiculturalism, and energy and environment. These sessions will conclude with a closing retreat and graduation in May. More than 50 experts from across the region and state representing business, government, education, and the nonprofit community will serve as panelists and guest speakers.

Founded in 2008, LSM has successfully graduated over 350 regional leaders. LSM is an independent, educational leadership development organization designed to broaden the knowledge base of mid- to senior-level public and private sector executives about the critical issues, challenges, and opportunities facing the region. Leadership Southern Maryland is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

The Southern Maryland Chronicle is a local, small business entrusted to provide factual, unbiased reporting to the Southern Maryland Community. While we look to local businesses for advertising, we hope to keep that cost as low as possible in order to attract even the smallest of local businesses and help them get out to the public. We must also be able to pay employees(part-time and full-time), along with equipment, and website related things. We never want to make the Chronicle a “pay-wall” style news site.

To that end, we are looking to the community to offer donations. Whether it’s a one-time donation or you set up a reoccurring monthly donation. It is all appreciated. All donations at this time will be going to furthering the Chronicle through hiring individuals that have the same goals of providing fair, and unbiased news to the community. For now, donations will be going to a business PayPal account I have set-up for the Southern Maryland Chronicle, KDC Designs. All business transactions currently occur within this PayPal account. If you have any questions regarding this you can email me at davidhiggins@southernmarylandchronicle.com

Thank you for all of your support and I hope to continue bringing Southern Maryland the best news possible for a very long time. — David M. Higgins II

© 2019 The Southern Maryland Chronicle. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.