School system honors volunteers for making a difference in the lives of students, staff

News Release, Charles County Public Schools

Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) held the second annual Be the Difference Awards program June 10 to honor volunteers who contribute their time, talents and resources to students, staff and schools.  

The Outstanding Volunteer of the Year “Be the Difference” awards program began in 2018 to recognize exemplary volunteers. There are five categories including elementary school parent volunteer, middle school parent volunteer, high school parent volunteer, Charles County business volunteer and community organization volunteer.

Winners are named in each category, voted on by a committee made up of Board of Education members and CCPS staff.

This year, Stephanie “Dusty” Guili was named the outstanding elementary school volunteer. She is known for pitching in wherever she’s needed at J.C. Parks Elementary School from helping building service workers to working with students on their reading and during Maker Space. Melissa Morris, a Matthew Henson Middle School parent, was named the outstanding middle school volunteer. Morris is president of the school’s Parent Teacher Student Organization (PTSO), coordinates staff appreciation events and works concession stands at school dances and sporting events. Marvin and Lisa Marshall’s three children have graduated from Westlake High School, but the couple continues to give their time to the school. They chaperone field trips, cook for special events and help with Wolverines’ athletic boosters. Marquita Queen Foxworth was named the business volunteer. A member of the Professional Advisory Committee, Foxworth provides insight to the interactive media program at the Robert D. Stethem Educational Center. Lisa Ambers of Beyond the Classroom was named the community organization volunteer. The organization brought SOAP — Student of Active Parents — to the Eva Turner Elementary School’s Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) and organizes Cocoa with Santa, an event for senior citizens.

Principals and school staff nominated more than 40 volunteers among the five categories this year, including:

Elementary school parent volunteers

  • Desma Andres, Dr. James Craik Elementary School;
  • James Berry, Gale-Bailey Elementary School;
  • Kaprena Camp, Craik;
  • Teresa “Tiki” Shasho Clark, Dr. Thomas Elementary School;
  • Barbara Curbelo, William A. Wade Elementary School;
  • Jeneen Davis, Arthur Middleton Elementary School;
  • Justin Dean, William A. Diggs Elementary School;
  • Mary Dent, T.C. Martin Elementary School;
  • Charlene Dover, Martin;
  • Juanita Ford-Rodriguez, Berry Elementary School;
  • Stephanie “Dusty” Guili, J.C. Parks Elementary School;
  • Alvin Keith Hunter, Indian Head and Mary H. Matula elementary schools;
  • Cathy Payne, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School;
  • Toni Pierce, Malcolm Elementary School;
  • Rizwan Ramakdawala, Diggs;
  • Kevin Ritter, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elemenary School;  
  • Robert Sondheimer, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School;
  • April Sterling, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School;
  • Norma Stump, J.C. Parks Elementary School;
  • James Tabourne, Indian Head Elementary School;
  • Veronica Tilghman, Eva Turner Elementary School;
  • Rebecca Warner, C. Paul Barnhart Elementary School and
  • Pamela Weimer, Parks.

Middle school parent volunteers

  • Shaneeza Kazim, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School;
  • Amy Moore, Matthew Henson Middle School;
  • Melissa Morris, Milton M. Somers Middle School;
  • Tamia Smith, John Hanson Middle School and
  • Tammy L.S. Wright, Mattawoman Middle School.

High school parent volunteers

  • Susan Alcorn, La Plata High School;
  • Revel Battle, North Point High School;
  • Cynthia Bridgett, Henry E. Lackey High School;
  • Derrick Fleet, St. Charles High School;
  • Michael Huber, Thomas Stone High School;
  • Bobbi Maljak, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
  • Lisa and Marvin Marshall, Westlake High School and
  • Brian Sheckells, McDonough.

Charles County business volunteers

  • Marquita Queen Foxworth, Robert D. Stethem Educational Center; and
  • La Plata Business Association, Charles County Public Schools fine arts staff.

Community organizations volunteers

  • Beyond the Classroom — Lisa Ambers, Turner;
  • Tri-County Chess Corner — Brett and Melissa Carey, Charles County Public Schools gifted education staff; and
  • Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. — Upper Marlboro/Waldorf alumni chapter, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School.

The Southern Maryland Chronicle is a local, small business entrusted to provide factual, unbiased reporting to the Southern Maryland Community. While we look to local businesses for advertising, we hope to keep that cost as low as possible in order to attract even the smallest of local businesses and help them get out to the public. We must also be able to pay employees(part-time and full-time), along with equipment, and website related things. We never want to make the Chronicle a “pay-wall” style news site.

To that end, we are looking to the community to offer donations. Whether it’s a one-time donation or you set up a reoccurring monthly donation. It is all appreciated. All donations at this time will be going to furthering the Chronicle through hiring individuals that have the same goals of providing fair, and unbiased news to the community. For now, donations will be going to a business PayPal account I have set-up for the Southern Maryland Chronicle, KDC Designs. All business transactions currently occur within this PayPal account. If you have any questions regarding this you can email me at

Thank you for all of your support and I hope to continue bringing Southern Maryland the best news possible for a very long time. — David M. Higgins II

© 2019 The Southern Maryland Chronicle. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.